Posted by: greentangle | November 18, 2012

Moose and More

Late this afternoon I headed out for my last meal of quality before a week in Gardiner of whatever I can microwave and visits to whichever of the always very limited selection of restaurants are still open at this time of year (Mmmm, Subway), followed by four months of cafeteria food.It’s going to be a long and possibly depressing week but at least I won’t have to travel anymore.

And to my amazement, in the creeked & willowed park next to the library, I saw a bull moose. A couple dozen people including a cop watched him, all looking more knowledgeable about how to behave around wildlife than the average Yellowstone visitor. The big city moose matched my total Yellowstone moose sightings over three years.

This meant big points for Bozeman in the thoughts I’ve been having about where to live when I’m done with the park, which right now seems likely to be next year. I checked apartment rates in Missoula and here–pretty similar, but far fewer ads here. In all things logical–variety of food (seitan in restaurants), public transit (Sunday buses), likelihood of employment–Duluth wins hands down by virtue of its size. But it also has much more of a negative feel and a larger loser population, and for me, the sense of going back to what’s already done. On the other hand, I’m not actually enthusiastic about a new start somewhere anyway, being more involved with getting through each day.

Yesterday at that library near the moose, a used book sale netted me Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Naturalist in Alaska by Adolph Murie, The Lost Grizzlies by Rick Bass, and Hawks Rest: A Season in the Remote Heart of Yellowstone by Gary Ferguson, coauthor of the just read updated edition of Decade of the Wolf, about the Yellowstone reintroduction and which now needs another rewrite in light of the cowardly sport of wolf-hunting wiping out close to 10% of the park’s wolves in a few weeks. I had owned and read most of those books, but couldn’t resist the chance to do it again.

An odd thing I noticed in Missoula–lots of bicyclists on sidewalks even when there was a bike lane right next to the sidewalk.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

