Posted by: greentangle | May 2, 2010

I’m a Whale Watcher, Watching Whales Go By

I got out to Stellwagen Bank Friday to watch some whales and get away from land. I love being out on the ocean, and every time I go now, I wonder if it’s the last time I’ll ever do it. If so, it turned out to be a good farewell.

I was first in line to secure a good spot out in the weather on the top deck. Things didn’t seem too promising at the dock. There were a couple large groups–one of high school seniors, and one apparently of Europeans–so it was more crowded than it would have been otherwise. But it was the day after a storm, and it was still very windy and a little rough at sea, and once or twice I made a sudden unplanned stagger across the deck. I like it rough. Like the Duluth winter, it keeps the riffraff out. Or in this case in.

It didn’t seem like too great a trip whale-wise at first either. We hung out with some fin whales for a while, and they were surfacing regularly, but it’s the humpbacks which I really go to see. Then we headed off to investigate some blows in the distance and found humpbacks and lots of dolphins. I didn’t get any photos of the dolphins–they were too quick for me. And right in the middle of the most activity, I had to change batteries in my camera. Not sure why that happened since I’d just swapped them the night before to avoid that very event. Maybe it was the cold wind. But I did manage to get a few shots of black on a blue background. Won’t you let me take you on a sea cruise?

The whale watching fleet?

The blue glass building on the left is where I served my 2 1/2 year sentence in a maximum security corporation. And the brown one just to the right of that building? I temped there reading depositions about asbestos. But I didn’t think of any of that when I took the next photo. In the center is the top of the Custom House tower. You might wonder why a building involved with shipping isn’t next to the water. It used to be; much of Boston is built on filled-in wetlands. Now the building is a hotel for rich people, and peregrine falcons also live there. Can you find the falcon in this photo?

How about now?

A harbor seal in a tank outside the aquarium. “Are you here to set me free?”

“Not right now–go hide.”

It seems like these things are spinning everywhere these days.

They’re even installing them on boats now.

This is one of the Boston Harbor Islands.

When searching for whales in the distance, along with blows, you want to look for splashes and birds.

Can you find the whale in this photo?

This is my favorite photo. Check out the baleen, and the gull below the whale.

And you thought they were bold taking popcorn from tourists.

Some more whales.

See you later; I’m diving.

This is the airport. If you’re lucky, your landing gear won’t hit the water on the way in.

Going the wrong way.

Really. Next time I’m taking the sailboat.

.

Responses

  1. It's not Yellowstone, but great pics. Have a great time!


Categories

