Posted by: greentangle | March 15, 2012

How Many Stairs?

I’ve often wondered how many stairs I climb to get from the Lower Terrace street level to the Upper Terrace loop road. Unfortunately, I usually start wondering this when I’m halfway up and resting to catch my breath. That was the case again this morning, but I counted them on the way down.

283 stairs up the hill, 283 stairs,
You miss one step,
Trip or lose grip,
282 stairs down the hill.

At least by my usual route–there are alternatives which could change your total. Or you could just walk along the road which would be about two miles. Or, shudder, you could even choose to drive it.

So why did I do 566 stairs today? Because I like to look at scenes like these.

Click on the next one and you can see a rainbow.

On the way up today, I noticed there had been an avalanche since I last passed.

This is the same spot where a much bigger one last year destroyed some of the boardwalk.



By the time I came down, warning signs were in place.

Here’s the next rerouting project before summer–hot water is starting to come over the boardwalk approaching Canary Spring.

Good news this morning–I found out one of my current winter bosses is going to be replacing my departing summer boss. This is the only person I could imagine dealing with after losing a great boss, so I’m breathing a big sigh of relief today.

Responses

  1. Happy for your good news, and also for your good views. Just think how good for you all that climbing is.

  2. Nice to see your views on the way to work – great compensation after you leave your dormitory. That's really good news that your work conditions will continue well. Is the concession company the same outfit in Yellowstone that is at Isle Royale NP (a company based in Kentucky)?

  3. Hi Jackie, I was going to include in the post my wondering how I was so fat considering all those stairs and the ones in the dorm and my walking. Hiking season can't come soon enough.

    Don, no, our company is based in Colorado and has contracts mostly in western national parks.
    http://www.xanterra.com/about-us-6.html


Categories

