Posted by: greentangle | August 28, 2023

Back to the Woods

Two roads diverged in a green wood.

Bagley016 (2)

Bagley019

In the early going, it looked like I’d missed thimbleberry season completely, but I found a few. I ate all the perfect ones before taking this photo.

Bagley047 (2)

And one of my long-time favorites, jewelweed.

Bagley051 (2)

I liked this balcony over the river.

Bagley040 (2)

The Monster of the Fern Forest.

Bagley026 (2)

Bagley059 (3)

Bagley066 (2)

I listened to a woodpecker for a while, and finally caught a glimpse at the moment of flight. Enough to see the bird was smaller than a Pileated, which I’d assumed from the sound and which narrowed it down not at all, but at least I hadn’t missed the big bird.

It took a lot of patience to get even these mediocre photos of some active Waxwings.

Bagley074 (3)

Bagley076 (3)


Categories