Posted by: greentangle | April 11, 2024

I Cheerfully Refuse

The new novel by Leif Enger.

I admit I was predisposed to enjoy this near-future, post-collapse novel, since I live within sight of Lake Superior. And no doubt, that made me like it more. Duluth is one of the few towns mentioned which retains its early 21st century name, but anyone familiar with the area will recognize the many towns with new names, such as Port Mineral.

A bookstore features heavily in the first quarter of this novel in which books have become rare reminders of the past, allowing for many literary references. I was most pleased by discovery of “the complete McGee” but the characters referring to themselves as quixotes may be most important.

The rest of the novel covers travel by sail around Lake Superior, a combination of fleeing from and searching for. Characters arrive, some stay, some go, including a villain I intensely wanted to die. There is sadness of deep loss and deaths, but also pleasure in new community forming and resisting despair both personal and societal. Maybe just the right mix to reach both pessimists and optimists. A pleasure to read.


Categories