Posted by: greentangle | November 15, 2023

Bat

Noticed a visitor on my screen a couple mornings ago. Didn’t want to disturb, so I quietly took a few horrible photos. 

bat004

Later in the day, I got this exterior view through another window. 

 

bat3 002b

Stayed all day, left shortly after dark, hasn’t returned. Wasn’t the worst spot–5th floor of a tall building, an inside corner of a U-shaped building with a roof below, so it was a bit cavelike.

Reading advance copies of a couple University of Minnesota Press to be published in January. Impermanence: Life and Loss on Superior’s South Shore, and Gunflint Falling: Blowdown in the Boundary WatersNot supposed to review this far in advance, but I definitely enjoyed the first, and the second, which I’m still reading, seems to be the blow by blow (sorry) stories of people who were there at the time (July 4, 1999). 


Categories